Valentine’s Idea for That Special Someone

13 Feb

52 Reasons Why I Love You

deck of cards

So whether you and your loved one like to go all out on Valentine’s day, or keep it low-key, it’s

always nice to share a small handmade gift. There’s something about a gift from the heart that even Hallmark can’t compete with.

Last year I came across this deck of cards craft and decided to make one for my boyfriend. The version I found on Pinterest was much more elaborate and involved pictures and cutouts on every card. But as a college student overwhelmed with classes and internships, I decided to go for a more simplistic route.

Make It Personal

I still used a regular deck of playing cards and simply took a Sharpie and wrote a reason why I love my boyfriend on each card. Coming up with the 52 reasons was the fun part. I included everything from the typical “you always make me laugh” to personal inside jokes only he would understand.

Valentine's Deck of CardsI got semi-crafty and decorated the box to make it a little personal, but it was such a simple and sweet gift to put together. And the most important part was how much my boyfriend loved it! Seeing the smile on his face while he went through each card was truly priceless.

And the best part is, you two can pull out the cards whenever you want to play a friendly game of Go-Fish, and it will be a wonderful reminder of your love. I highly recommend this pinperfect gift for your valentine this year.

Reasons I love you

I LOVE YOU!

8 Responses to “Valentine’s Idea for That Special Someone”

  1. adafeng March 26, 2013 at 10:23 am #

    It is really warm and sweet for you to share your personal experience and sincere feelings with us. That makes the readers feel highly involved in your blog. And I love the pink color in your photos and headlines. That fits so much with the Valentine day! To have a link to the original contents on Pinterest would make it better.

    • msecades March 26, 2013 at 1:01 pm #

      Thanks for the tip! I’ll be sure to link to the original Pinterest link right away!

  2. ajustice27 March 26, 2013 at 10:27 am #

    This is precious! What a genuine and inexpensive way to show someone how much you love them! (;

    • msecades March 26, 2013 at 1:00 pm #

      Thanks! You really could make this any time of year, but Valentine’s is always a good excuse.

  3. akerr87 March 26, 2013 at 10:39 am #

    What a fabulous idea! I am definitely going to have to use that at some point. Thanks for sharing!

  4. Chase Abraham March 26, 2013 at 10:48 am #

    I really like the idea of taking something as inexpensive as playing cards and turning them into something as priceless as this gift can be. I am a big fan of the thought-out and inside joke type gifts and this is a great example of that.

    I think you should continue to post gift ideas for all occasions, especially with Easter right around the corner. I am always interested in finding good gift ideas, especially on my college budget.

    • msecades March 26, 2013 at 12:59 pm #

      Thanks! I’m glad you liked it. And thanks for the tip about more gift ideas. I’ll be on the look out and hopefully find more great ideas for every occasion.

Leave a Reply

