Valentine’s Day Fail

17 Feb

Red Velvet Cake

Now that Valentine’s day has come & gone, some of you have memorable stories to share, while others might have had some “please tell me that was just a dream” moments. I personally had a little bit of both. Thankfully, it wasn’t too bad but still a little embarrassing, but the worst part had to be that Pinterest let me down.
I had found this scrumptious looking dessert that I thought would be both delicious and different. Red velvet cake, pudding, cool whip, and Oreos… what more could you ask for. However, this pin had no written instructions, it was all taught through pictures.  But even so, it looked pretty simple. And what I loved most was how the pudding soaks into the cake.

 Oops…Image

Well, let’s just say that didn’t exactly happen. There was not a drop of pudding soaking into that cake as Pinterest had promised. Perhaps next time I need to make the holes in the cake bigger, or the pudding a bit “runnier”. Maybe that’s why written instructions are so helpful.

Keeping it Simple…

Next time, I think I’ll just stick to chocolate-covered strawberries or cake made from scratch. But if you or someone you know has made this “pin-fail” a pinperfect treat, please share with us your secrets.
5 Responses to “Valentine’s Day Fail”

  1. svrod16 February 17, 2013 at 11:41 pm #

    How unfortunate! It did seem like a great idea :/

  2. sjsusock February 18, 2013 at 12:07 am #

    This still looks super yummy!! I love red velvet cake!

  3. littleredmermaid February 19, 2013 at 11:15 am #

    Even if this was a fail, it still looks super worth the calories!

    I just got a Pinterest and I have no idea what I’m doing 😦 Maybe you should do a post for pre-me pinners!

    • msecades February 19, 2013 at 12:48 pm #

      Thanks for the suggestion! I’ll definitely start working on that post right away.

Leave a Reply

