Lasagna Roll Ups

28 Feb

Homemade Italian… Yum!

Who doesn’t like Italian food? Honestly, there are very few people who are not fans of the rich, flavorful, sometimes spicy cuisine. Unfortunately, for most of us, the fanciest our Italian cooking has every gotten is chicken alfredo or a lemon-butter sauce. Very few would attempt the laborious task of homemade lasagna.

But when I found this pin for lasagna roll ups, I just had to try! Instead of creating layers, you simply roll up each piece of lasagna and each roll is a perfect single serving. But don’t be fooled! This does NOT take away from the time-consuming aspect of making lasagna.

ImageI made the meat sauce from scratch. Grated the cheese and chopped the parsley for the cheese sauce. And carefully stirred the pasta as it boiled. Once everything was cooked and ready, I spread the cheese and sauce onto each noodle and rolled it up and placed it in the dish.

Personalize It

I only made a few alterations to the recipe I found on Pinterest. I added Italian sausage to the ground beef to give it some extra flavor (if you like spicy, use spicy Italian sausage). I also skipped out on running the ground beef through the food processor (just sounded weird & unnecessary to me).

I must say this dish was ABSOLUTELY pinperfect! Not to toot my own horn, but I’ve had homemade lasagna from actual Italian families, and this lasagna was pretty high up there. I must warn you though, this meal is not for your average Tuesday night dinner. I would save it for a more special occasion (unless Tuesday nights are your thing).

Image

Individual Lasagna Roll

2 Responses to “Lasagna Roll Ups”

  1. svrod16 February 28, 2013 at 5:56 pm #

    Yum!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Spinach Alfredo Lasagna: Recipe Sunday - If You Can Read, You Can Cook - March 3, 2013

    […] Lasagna Roll Ups […]

Leave a Reply

