Green Monster!

17 Mar

Green Smoothie

Just because Spring Break has come and gone, there’s no reason to give up on our diets, workout routines, or healthy habits. And in honor of St. Patrick’s Day today, what better way to get healthy than with a green smoothie. If you plan on celebrating St. Patrick’s Day, your body will probably appreciate the extra vitamins and antioxidants.

I’m a huge fan of smoothies because they’re quick, easy, and a great source of energy. Personally, I used frozen fruits because you can keep them in the freezer for a while and you don’t need to add ice. But thanks to Pinterest, I learned that if you add fresh baby spinach, you instantly add extra vitamins to your smoothie. I was quite skeptical about the taste and the green color when I first saw a picture, but my friend Lysette tried it and became a HUGE advocate for green smoothies.

Not Sure About the Spinach?

As do most pinners, Lysette promised that the spinach would not change the taste of your smoothie.  There are several smoothie recipes on Pinterest that use spinach as an added ingredient so there’s no restriction to the flavor of your green smoothie. I found a specific pin for a “Green Monster,” which mentions all the benefits Spinach adds to your smoothie.

I just made my everyday fruit smoothie with Orange Juice for extra vitamin C, added the spinach leaves, and BOOM… my very own pinperfect green monster! I added berries to this specific smoothie so the color is darker than other green smoothies. Your friends might look at you weird when they see you sipping on your green monster (mine sure did), but your taste buds won’t know the difference and your body will thank you.

Green smoothie unblended Green Smoothie

3 Responses to “Green Monster!”

  1. eabrown1 March 17, 2013 at 3:05 pm #

    Love the green theme this week! I’m a proponent of hiding spinach in as many foods as possible, green smoothies are great, good pick on this one, OJ I find is one of the best juices to add because it has such a strong flavor.

  2. svrod16 March 18, 2013 at 11:08 am #

    Love adding spinach to my smoothies! Have you tried Kale?

    • msecades March 18, 2013 at 12:30 pm #

      No, but I’ve heard that’s great too! I’ll have to try that soon

Leave a Reply

