Matte Nail Polish

22 Mar

Recently, I have been coming across more and more pins featuring matte nail polish. Most polishes that I have found are top-quality, brand name polishes- expensive nail polishes.

This shine-free look definitely caught my eye and seems to be trending right now, but I wasn’t completely sold on it. I figured it was worth a shot, but I didn’t feel like spending $8 on a whole bottle of matte polish.

So of course I search around Pinterest for a DIY matte nail polish tutorial, and I found one pin that seemed simple and straightforward. All you have to do is hold your nails over some steam (I just put a coffee mug with water in the microwave for 90 seconds).

And viola! Matte nail polish. I was honestly shocked that this actually worked but was very pleased with the pinperfect results.

Matte vs Gloss Hands

Matte vs Gloss close up

Disclaimer: The matte effect did fade after a few days and the polish began chipping relatively quickly.

2 Responses to “Matte Nail Polish”

  1. svrod16 March 22, 2013 at 2:23 pm #

    Interesting, can’t believe it actually worked!

Leave a Reply

