Cookie Monster Cupcakes!

25 Mar

So every year for my boyfriend’s birthday I try to make him a fun cake or dessert. Even though he’s in his 20s, he really is a kid at heart, so his birthday treat has to be reflective of that. So last year I decided to make him Cookie Monster cupcakes! Yepp, Cookie Monster- as in the Sesame Street character.

When I came across these cupcakes on Pinterest, I thought to myself, “this could either go really well, or end up being a disaster.” I looked through several different versions of Cookie Monster cupcakes and overall the execution and idea seemed pretty quick and easy.  So I was determined to make them a success.

How-To

All you have to do is bake the cupcakes (I chose chocolate), cut a whole for the cookie to fit into, and then decorate. I made the blue icing from white icing with food dye, and put it in a makeshift piping bag- just a simple zip-lock bag and cut the very tip of the corner off. Be sure to put the cookie in the mouth before you ice the cupcake so you can ice and holes around the cookie. The eyes are just made from white chocolate melting candies, and the black is food gel pen I got in the baking section of my local grocery story.

Enjoy- Me Love Cookies!

cookie monster!! 

TA DA! Super easy and super fun Cookie Monster cupcakes. I was really happy with the finished product, and my boyfriend absolutely loved them! I would definitely recommend these pinperfect cupcakes for anyone you might know. Whether they’re 4 or 44, who doesn’t love Cookie Monster?

7 Responses to “Cookie Monster Cupcakes!”

  1. eabrown1 March 26, 2013 at 7:53 am #

    I’m impressed how well those turned out. Next time you should try to make the entire sesame street gang. I don’t think I would have thought to put the cookie on the cupcake before icing it. That would have ended up in one lopsided cupcake.

    • msecades March 26, 2013 at 12:57 pm #

      I don’t know if I can pull off the whole Sesame Street gang, but I’m honored that you think I can take on that task. And putting in the cookie before you ice is the best tip; it really does help you hide any mistakes or fill any holes.

  2. littleredmermaid March 26, 2013 at 9:36 am #

    This is cruel… I’ve been craving good cupcakes ALL week. Especially one that will turn my tongue blue. lol.

    Are the cookies just old-fashioned Chips Ahoy?

    • msecades March 26, 2013 at 12:54 pm #

      If I still had some left, I would have definitely shared! For the cookies, I used Famous Amos, but you can just choose whichever cookie you enjoy most. You can even use mini Oreos if you like those, or if you want to get really fancy just bake some homemade mini chocolate chip cookies.

  3. JR March 26, 2013 at 10:27 am #

    Cute. We would likely end up eating the ingredients before they were strategically placed. But we would know they would have made a cute Cookie Monster.

    • msecades March 26, 2013 at 12:55 pm #

      I know what you mean! I ended up eating all the pieces of cake that I cut out to make the mouths. I was too full to even try one right away.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. 10 Things To Do This Week. | Explore 352 - April 8, 2013

    […] Stay in and make some delicious Cookie Monster Cupcakes with Michelle’s PinPerfect […]

Leave a Reply

